Anticipating disasters

I am not a financial expert but I have done a decent job of managing things on sometimes very limited income over the course of my life. As a bishop I am in a position where I have to make decisions regarding welfare issues, etc. as well.

This is only from personal experience over the past several months as the pandemic is playing out. You all know some of my thoughts and feelings about what is going on but I have another question and would like feedback from some of you who may have more experience or ideas about it.

I know of many people, and this seems to be the norm, who have lost jobs during the pandemic who are receiving unemployment as well as pandemic related added assistance who are making more income being unemployed than they were when they were working. In fact this seems to be the rule rather than a strange exception or anomaly.

How does someone get more income NOT working than they did while they were working? I understand the stimulus payment thing but that is past now and these people are still getting more money given to them than when they were working. As a result many people are saying they don’t have any incentive to go back to work.

Does anyone else perceive this as a potential disaster going forward? Not just for these people but for the general economy of the states (California is whack) and nation that is doing this?

I agree that it is a problem. But it is short term as the extra $600/wk ends on July 31st. I don’t know anyone personally in the situation you describe, but I imagine it is prevalent for employees in the restaurant/entertainment industry.

My wife is temporarily laid off and is being paid $1,200/mo more in unemployment. She is enjoying her time doing lots of cooking and home schooling our grandkids who live with us.