The Moby Riot: CSU protested more than BYU in 1970 - 16 Feb

Link: http://www.coloradoan.com/story/sports/csu/mens-basketball/2015/02/15/byu-csu-basketball-riot/23448897/

Reply below to discuss this article.

Too bad the writer of the Moby Gym story wasn’t around in 1970.This story is a perfect example of the ignorance that many people had and many still condone about the LDS Church. I was a student at BYU during those years and these protestors had no idea what the LDS Priesthood was or really meant. Today and back then many of those so-called “protestors” have or had little desire or understanding about what the Priesthood is or was back in those days. The BYU athletes, cheer leaders and others representing BYU were the real victims of the so-called protests in those days. We in the LDS Church know that these so-called “protests” had nothing to do with the 1978 Revelation to President Kimball about the Priesthood. Yet the LDS Church continues to get hate and ignorance thrown at it because people were back in the 1960’s and 1970’s as ignorant about the Church and its beliefs and standards as many are today. Too bad few even gave the LDS Church a chance or tried to learn what the doctrines of the Church were or are today.Yet many of those “protestors” are singled out for awards and given honorable notoriety for attitudes that they condoned or “demonstrated” generally in ignorance about the LDS Church. Too bad that the LDS Church is one of the most discriminated or least understood organization in these United States and in the world.

Unfortunatly protests like these were needed to help motivate some to change. In the end it’s more shameful why such protests were held as a apposed to what happened during the protests.