A legend passed today.... RIP Jerry Tarkanian

Probably my most favorite college basketball (and for that matter all of basketball) coach of all time passed today. I loved watching his teams play, I loved watching him coach the game. Might be one of my most favorite teams of all time, the 1990 team that won the national championship, beating Duke by 30 in the title game. It was the year after I graduated from BYU. A couple years earlier I drove up to the Huntsman center hoping to get tickets to a sold out double header and was lucky enough to get them from a very nice lady at the will call window when 3 people called and said they weren’t able to use their tickets. Sat in the Kansas St. section at mid court about 10 rows up and got to see UCLA play Wyoming and UNLV play Kansas State… Reggie Miller, Fennis Dembo, Eric Leckner, Mitch Richmond, Freddie Banks and Armon Gilliam.

One of the top memorable basketball experiences of my life.

RIP Jerry Tarkanian, one of the greatest college basketball coaches in the history of the game.

1 Like

#great man and great coach, RIP tark

I am intrigued by your comments Jim…

You admire this coach that cheated (recruiting violations) to win the National Championship?

The two teams I know he coached at were both under investigation for NCAA recruiting rules violations.

He may have been a good coach, but his ethics was a bit short.

Tark the Shark as far as I know was a pretty good coach. I feel for his family, loosing a father is never easy, no matter how long he has been around.