Can’t be over soon enough

I’ve been a big supporter of Coach Pope but he turned in an unmitigated disaster this season.

We have no size, yet we don’t lose because of bugs. We lose because this team cannot guard the perimeter. Every game a different guard or two destroys BYU. And this is the Rec League. We could seriously not win more than one or two league games next year.

Very disappointing season. So bad it’s hard to put it into words. In my wildest dreams I didn’t think we could be this bad against low kid major competition.

I agree that we have issues. However, the WCC through the transfer portal has legitimate top collegiate players. It’s not the same league of 10 years ago. Two teams are in the top 20. SM has a senior and a freshman that can take over a game. I thought maybe Hall was doing it earlier on. But lately, he has lost control while trying to lay the ball up. That’s skill, strength, self control and coaching. I was disappointed that Pope kept a hot shooting Williams out the last 3 minutes.

In a desparate attempt to win a game at the end of the season and salvage things BYU became very one dimensional. Traore is good but when your half court offense is obsessed with getting the ball to one guy and hoping he can take it one on one (or two or three) to win the game is not going to work.

Likewise, the players on this team are afraid to shoot the ball when they need to. Johnson played so well this game and then just disappeared when it mattered. Same with Waterman, who finally looked like a basketball player only to show his true basketball IQ at the end. It has been a frustrating season for a very average team. They forgot who they are and who they could be at some point. Maybe it was the frustrating one point losses to the top two teams at home, I don’t know.