Fun article about Pope and the Reid's

Very cool. I remember Randy and Robbie well as I was a student there when those two were playing. I’ll always remember Robbie’s clutch play against Utah one year. I think he hit a big go ahead 3 with under a minute left to give us the lead that we would not relinquish. Some of you may remember that game.

We’re reasonably close to the same age. My dad asked me how much money I had in savings, and I said, “$200 or so.” He said, “Want to go to the first round of the NCAA tournament at the Rosemont Horizon (DePaul)?” You bet! It featured BYU, SMU, Kansas, and another team. Our ticket let us watch both games. It was a blast! BYU beat SMU with Randy Reid and Gary Trost. We then lost pretty easily to Kansas in the next round. My mom was mad that I had dipped into savings, but it was worth every penny. We were seated near the tunnel BYU entered and exited out of, and Roger Reid was very gracious and willing to talk to fans (especially pre-game). Gary Trost also gave us high fives and talked on his way out.

A well-spent day for a Chicagoland sophomore!

I was really sad and disappointed when there was the player revolt (if I remember right, Kevin Nixon and Russell Larson were prime movers) that led to Reid’s ouster. Fans were definitely calling for his head, but there was pretty clearly some bad attitudes and bad things behind the scene with players. The awful start was bad, but Reid’s history, record, and winning percentage was too-easily cast aside, I thought.