Coaching Staff Matter--IMHO only

Here’s my take:
If you have enough talent to beat USC and BSU, even with lots of backups playing, you have to have TERRIBLE, and I mean AWFUL coaching/scheme/preparation to lose to Toledo and USF. It’s clear as day that we beat BSU in large part because Kalani took the car keys away from his younger cuz and called the defense like he wasn’t afraid to lose; until, of course, he called the entire 4th quarter like he was terrified to lose, and almost threw away a sure win. Again, we have players–even backups–who can beat elite talent like USC, BSU, and, yes, even Tennessee, who, although they suck in the SEC, have elite athletes by the dozens. I was a fan of hiring Coach Ken, who has demonstrated excellence, on and off the field, in an environment with higher standards than even BYU. He wanted the job but Holmoe didn’t want him. So turn the page and hire Kalani. I’m ok with it. I don’t even think he needs to be fired. But we can’t be a varsity team with a JV defensive staff, and that’s what we look like, week in and week out. I’ve been swamped with my business and coaching my own program, and I’ve missed a lot of posts (sorry guys, keep 'em coming!), but I think it may have been Edwards who wrote the obvious: Kalani has to take over the defense, Tuiaki has to go, send Lamb with him, and get on bended knee to beg Kaufusi to come back. Problem solved. Again, just my opinion.

Actually, it was many others who suggested that before brother Edwards. Before you can fire someone during the season you have to have someone ready to replace him.

Kalani is a known Defensive Coordinator, he has at least 10-15 years of experience as a DC. It is not uncommon for a HC to do both HC and DC, Bronco Mendenhall does it.